First Library Book Haul 23/07/2016

It may appear from the title of this blog that I’ve never been to a library before. To clarify I have used many libraries but since I moved a year ago I haven’t set foot in one. A travesty I know! So today I decided to sign up to my new local library.

I was surprised by how many books they had. Now I know you’re saying that it’s a library, duh! But my old library had a pretty limited selection. I was pleasantly impressed to walk in and see books I’ve got on my TBR pile and a huge selection of graphic novels (so now I have no excuse not to get into more of them). 

It was really easy to sign up as well. As long as you have ID with your address on you’re good to go and luckily I did! A very nice man made joining super easy and let me browse the books whilst he put me on the system. 

So what did I come out with?

Only 3 books! I’m impressed with my restraint because there were so many I just wanted to grab off the shelf and run away with.

1.The Haunting of the Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie.

Synopsis: In that place where you’re more asleep than awake, I hear something. A phrase uttered in a child’s voice, no more than a whisper: night night.

Why I got this book: This apparently comes from a YouTube channel. I’ve never heard of it before but it sounds awesome and I’ve been looking for some horror reads so I’m gonna give this a try.

Everyday by David 


Synopsis: Each morning A wakes up in a different body. There’s never any warning about who it will be, but A is used to that. Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere. And that’s fine – until A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally W has found someone he was to be with – every day…

Why I got this book: this has flown in and out of my Amazon basket more times than an EasyJet flight to Magaluf but I’ve never had that push to get it. Even though it sounds awesome. So the minute I saw this I picked it up, it just felt like fate.

Revival by Stephen King

Synopsis: In a small New England town, over half a century ago, a shadow falls over a small boy playing with his toy soldiers. Jamie Morton looks up to see a striking man, the new minister. Charles Jacobs, along with his beautiful wife, will transform the local church. The men and boys are all a bit in love with Mrs. Jacobs; the women and girls feel the same about Reverend Jacobs — including Jamie’s mother and beloved sister, Claire. With Jamie, the Reverend shares a deeper bond based on a secret obsession. When tragedy strikes the Jacobs family, this charismatic preacher curses God, mocks all religious belief, and is banished from the shocked town.

Jamie has demons of his own. Wed to his guitar from the age of thirteen, he plays in bands across the country, living the nomadic lifestyle of bar-band rock and roll while fleeing from his family’s horrific loss. In his mid-thirties –addicted to heroin, stranded, desperate — Jamie meets Charles Jacobs again, with profound consequences for both men. Their bond becomes a pact beyond even the Devil’s devising, and Jamie discovers that revival has many meanings.
Why I got this book: the only Stephen King I’ve read before is Carrie and that was a LONG time ago. I read a synopsis for this online earlier today and really wanted to read it, so I’ve picked this up too.

Do you use your local library? Let me know in the comments below.


One thought on “First Library Book Haul 23/07/2016

Leave a Reply

