Percy Jackson and the Lightning Theif by Rick Riordan.

I was going to just do a whole series review BUT I needed to talk about this book. Then I plan to read the rest and do a whole series review after that. 

Synopsis: Look, I didn’t want to be a half-blood, I never asked to be the son of a Greek god

I was just a normal kid, going to school, playing basketball, skateboarding. The usual. Until I accidentally vaporised my maths teacher. Now I spend my time battling monsters and generally trying to stay alive.

This is the one where Zeus, God of the sky, thinks I’ve stolen his lightning bolt – and making Zeus angry is a very bad idea.

The Facts(ish): This book was published in 2006 by Disney Hyperion Books, my copy was published by Puffin Books. I had it in my head that these books were older than they are. Now I realise why I didn’t read these as a child; because I was 17 when these came out (feeling old right now).

This book was 377 pages long. It read like an adult book. I wouldn’t have put this down as a younger teenage book had I not known that that’s what it is. I read this book over 3 days, it took me about 7 hours to read. This book reads so well, at one point I was a couple of chapters in and before I knew it I was over half way. 

This book has 44 editions! It has also won a ton of awards. This book has a 4.12 rating (as of today) on Goodreads. I think that this is totally what I would score this out of 5. I’m reluctant to give this a 5 because although I really, really, really liked this book, I don’t love it. Maybe love will grow as I go on with this series or maybe we’ll just stay friends?

Highway too the spoiler zone: This book is just cool. The cover I have of this (see picture below) just made me want to pick this book up. The whole series in this cover are just beautiful and I really love them. 


I can see these books being so relatable for teenagers. Especially kids who are labelled as naughty or disruptive. Not everything is what it seems. I think one of the best things about these books is this strong message that academic achievement is not the be all and end all. You may not be a maths genius but there is always something someone is good at. I think that is a powerful and universal message to children and adults alike.

Now I know nothing about Greek Gods. I kind of remember names and maybe a few stories but I was never really interested. This book has made me want to learn about them. My boyfriend was very helpful explaining some background on certain gods but it honestly wasn’t necessary to understand the book.

The story flowed so well and was packed with action. I loved the story and I loved the characters (even the mean ones) and I loved that I was wrong about what things were going to happen the whole way through.

I’m also not usually one for mystical creatures but I was fascinated. From evil grandmas to boys with hooves instead of feet, I loved how Rick made these creatures interesting to me. 

All in all I’m just really excited to find out what happens next.

My Favourite Quotes:

“It brought the smell of wildflower and clean rainwater, things that might’ve once been in these woods. Suddenly I was nostalgic for something I’d never known”.

“What did my science teacher used to say- two-thirds of the earth’s surface was covered in water? How could I be the son of someone that powerful?”.

“”There’s no such thing as a free lunch.” That’s an Ancient Greek saying that translated pretty well into American. There will be a price. You wait.”

“Better the coast guard wonder why one of us was barefoot than wonder why one of us had hooves.”

“Was that all I was? A wrongdoing? The result of a god’s mistake?”

“I have brought you a hero’s fate, and a hero’s fate is never happy. It is never anything but tragic.”

“The real world is where the monsters are.”

Leave a Reply

