Books I Hated

This blog post may make me a little unpopular but I’m going to do it anyway because I love reading about books other people couldn’t understand. I know hate is a strong word but trust me, there have been plenty of books I’ve disliked and then there have been books I have, without a doubt HATED. I’ve taken these from my Goodreads account, anything I’ve given 1 star to on there will probably be below:

50 Shades of Grey by E.L. James: By sales of this book, it is easy to say it was popular, now weather it was popular because it was liked or because it was just so talked about I’m not sure but I hated it. Where do I start? I knew before I read it I wouldn’t like it. Don’t get me wrong I’m not a prude but I’m not a massive erotic fiction fan and I was a massive Twilight fan and I felt like this book would take everything I liked about Twilight, through it away and just keep the stuff I didn’t like; which it did. I know a lot of people didn’t like the dynamic of the relationship in this book. It was the same with Twilight, I find nothing appealing about an over controlling pathetic man, reading 50 Shades didn’t change this for me. Beyond my own feelings on the moral bits in this book, I hated the writing. I felt like a six year old had been taught a few naughty words and had been left to go wild on a laptop. The sex scenes were repetitive, the feelings were repetitive, the plot was repetitive and if this woman had used the words my sex instead of vagina one more time I would have set the book on fire. The only good thing I took from this book was the 50p charity got from selling this book to me. Weirdly enough, I did read the whole series (which didn’t get any better really) and Grey (which I actually quite liked, go figure).

Notes From a Small Island by Bill Bryson: I found his ‘social commentary’ both idiotically stereotyping and offensive. For a man who was born and lived in Britain, I found his opinions ill informed and his book very unentertaining.

Paranormal Intruder by Caroline Mitchell: This book has a crazy amount of 5 star ratings which I can’t for the life of me understand. This book is about a haunted house, a real life account. I don’t dispute that, I’m in fact open to ghostly goings on. What I’m not open to is 252 pages of badly written ramblings that were, for the most boring. For a real story it was made to sound made up. I just didn’t like and I certainly wasn’t scared.

The Daughter’s Secret by Eva Holland: I’m pretty much going to stick to my Goodreads review here. The synopsis of this book made it sound like a fast paced thriller that would have me on the edge of my seat. What I got was a book full of flat, unlikeable characters and a slow, unwinding plot that just fizzled to nothing at the end. Any promise of a climatic book at the start was a lie. This book was rubbish.

Penelope’s Pitfalls in Switzerland by Tyburn Way: I always feel horrible giving a book I’ve received in a giveaway a bad mark, but with a rating of 1.75 on Goodreads I can see I wasn’t the only one. I was going through my entering every competition I could, without reading the synopsis staged, which I firmly stopped after reading this book. Once again, I do not have a problem with erotic fiction but this was just weird. It didn’t really follow a plot and was full of activities that did not need explaining in great detail, not a book I could have read with a meal lets put it that way. There wasn’t really a plot, just a lot of random encounters that I think were meant to be linked but didn’t come across that way. There wasn’t one character in this book who was even relatable never mind one I liked. Its also a bad job when you struggle to finish a book that’s only 70 pages long.

So there we have it, not many but enough. Do you have any books you hate? Let me know in the comments below…

 

Leave a Reply

