The French Retreat by Sue Fortin

This is a novella that I got through Kindle Unlimited. I’m only keeping it till my free trial is over so I’m reading everything on it that looks appealing.

This book is about a woman staying with her brother and his friend in France after loosing her job. There is an angry neighbour and a possible ghost but not all is as it seems.

This book is a diddy 172 pages long and reads actually like it’s quite a bit shorter, I didn’t realise it was that many I was thinking around 100 pages. It was published in October 2015 by Romaniac Press. 

If you don’t want any spoilers I suggest you don’t read the next paragraph.

I love the cover of this book. Then again seeing the cover of this book should have probably told me what I was about to read. On Amazon this is advertised as a cosy mystery. This is not a cosy mystery. This is a romance that starts off as a wierd ghost story and ends in a fairy tale love kinda way. There is no mystery, I was expecting a murder and I got nothing like that. Unless the ghost business was the mystery but it was hardly the main focus of the book. 

My criticisms of this book all seem to centre around the length of it. Nothing is developed, explained or given time to grow. This book has far to many elements to make its great story. I didn’t really connect with it because I never really knew what I was trying to connect with. 

Still for free it was an enjoyable read. And if the author ever decides to expand this into a full novel I would love to read it. I’m giving this a 3/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

