The Last Town by Blake Crouch

I made it to the end of the trilogy! I’m so proud of my attention span I could squee, but I can’t take all the credit. Blake Crouch has one hell of an imagination and I’m so glad I got to take a ride.

This book was published in July 2014 by Thomas & Mercer. It’s 285 pages long and I read it in a couple of hours, it was a super quick read. My only difficulty was that my kindle addition had pages missing so occasionally I had to guess what had happened. This book won the Goodreads Choice Award for Horror in 2014 so that was pretty cool. This book has a 4.09 rating on Goodreads, I’m giving this a 4 star too.

Now if you remember my last review, I wasn’t even 100% sure I was going to read the last book. The end of the last one really picked up though so I was propelled to read the last one. From the start this book had the most action. If I’m honest I wouldn’t even class these books as horror until this last book. I was genuinely scared at certain points, the abbeys are terrifying. I’m happy to say that all endings were nicely tied up too, until right at the end where it is wide open to another book that he’ll probably never write and I’ll forever wonder what the hell happened to them.
My favourite part of this book was really getting into the nitty gritty of the character’s lives and back stories. This was one fucked up town, it was great to visit but I’m glad I don’t live there.

Overall I give this series a 3.75/5.

Leave a Reply

