Wayward by Blake Crouching 

BANG, WHACK, let me punch you in the face with how much you hate me then cuddle you and make you like me again. This is this book. That I now classify as the x-files, meets the twilight zone, meets the purge, meets The Hunger Games.

This book is 298 pages long, published in 2013 by Thomas & Mercer. It has an average rating of 4.12 on Goodreads. I’m giving this book a firm 3, 3.25 at a push but certainly not a 4.

I really disliked the first 3/4 of this book. It pissed me off, it did not go in the direction I wanted it too. The story seemed to be struggling to relate to any kind of reality, even in the sci-fi realm. I also fucking hated the cheating aspect. For god sake I hate this whole I have a wife but I was drawn to her bullshit. 

But I loved the ending. The intermingling of the character stories with the over tale made the ending explosive. Actually I don’t know if I loved the ending but I didn’t hate it. I was so close to calling it a day on this series until the end. Now I’m gonna  get on and read the third one. Fingers crossed the ending doesn’t make me riot!

Leave a Reply

