Pines by Blake Crouch

What? I mean what? Is anyone confused and angry after reading this book like at the end of watching 10 Cloverfield Lane? But then still a little bit into it even though you know you shouldn’t be because the ending was so fucked up? If you answered yes to more than one of these then this post is for you! For those of you who haven’t read the book I will try and keep it as spoiler free as possible.

And I will apologise now if this post doesn’t make sense; its 4.30am and I’m ill so just trying to keep it all together :).

This book was published in August 2012 and is the first in the Wayward Pines books, which I believe are a trilogy? Thomas & Mercer published this book for anyone who has a gripping need to know. This book has a 3.87 star rating on Goodreads which I can see. I’m giving this book a 3.5 in real life but a 4 on Goodreads because I’m not a monster.

I wanted to read this book because it just sounded amazing. I’d actually typed into Google ‘books like the X-Files’ and this book came up numerous times. And hats off to those recommenders because this book is a frightening cross between The X-Files and The Twilight Zone. The clincher was the fact this book was £1 on Amazon, or all 3 books free on unlimited. I had to give it a go, it was like fate was talking to me.

This book gave me, and I mean it, MAJOR hebegebies. Like the protagonist for a good 85% of the book you don’t really have a fucking clue what’s going on and you’re just grasping at whatever you can. Then when you think you know the truth you don’t actually know if it’s the truth or you’re just being lulled into a false sense of security.

This book is violent and not afraid to kill people off. Not to the extent of George R. R. Martin but enough to make me go ew and want to cover my eyes. Which makes reading pretty hard.

The ending annoyed the hell out of me. It made me want to rage quit the book and never return to Waywood Pines but it also managed to make me want to read more. I don’t know how that happened but I MUST read book two!

Have you read this book? Do you have any recommendations regarding X-Files kinda books? If so please leave a comment down below but PLEASE no spoilers!

Leave a Reply

