Books I Wish I Could Read For The First Time, Again.

Do you ever read a book, obsess over it and then read it again and again? I do, I love coming back to a book I loved, I think no matter how many times you have read a book you can always get something more out of it. BUT sometimes I do wish that I could just forget a book and get that feeling you only get the first time you read a really good book. This is my list of books I really, really, REALLY wish I could read AGAIN for the first time.

Twilight by Stephanie Meyer – I loved Twilight so much. I was a bit late coming into the series (I’m always years behind everyone else’s reading trends) but once I was in I was hooked. Although I can give and take the rest of the series I have read Twilight so many times. Still I wish that I could read it again for the first time, magical!

Lucy Stone Series by Leslie Meier – I happened upon one of these books in the charity shop I worked in at the time. It blew me away, I had to read the whole series. Now I have read them all and I’m (impatiently) waiting for the next book to be published I really wish that I could read them all again, for the first time.

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover – The first time I read this, I didn’t just read it, I devoured it. I read it so fast and when it was over I regretted that I hadn’t just taken my god damn time. This book is probably the most emotional book I’ve ever read. I sat and cried, mourning not only the ending of this book but all the events throughout it. But I know it wouldn’t be same the second time around. Please someone, erase my memory!

The Witches by Roald Dahl – I read this as a child and it scared the shit out of me. I think if I read it as an adult and I hadn’t read it before that I’d still be pretty chilled. The film (which I have seen, multiple times as an adult) still gives me the heebiegeebies.

The Shepherd’s Life by James Rebanks – Just because of the way it made me feel. I felt like a child running through the fields of Cumbria. I don’t think It’d quite have the same effect the second time round.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – If you’ve read the book you’ll know once the ending has been read, you’ll never forget it. This book is like being hit by a train. I don’t think this book will ever be the same for me again because after the shock value is taken out, it’s just another story I guess. Still well written but not the masterpiece it is the first time round. I would love to feel what I felt the first time I read it.

Forbidden by Tabitha Sazuma – I was shocked to the core when I read this. I had an idea in my head going into this book about what would be happening, but I didn’t expect what actually did. Like Me Before You, I’m not sure how well this would hold up when the shock factor has gone.

Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert – I read this when I was in a bad place in my life. It brought me hope and happiness. I loved this book so much that I read it 3 times in a row. Although, from experience, I can tell you this book is deliciously re-readable, there is something magic about the first time you read this book. Like it was made for you to read at that time.

The Wave by Morton Rhue – The Wave! What a wave it is, a tsunami of ideas that collected together are terrifying. I didn’t want to read this but I also couldn’t put it down. Now I’ve read it though, once again the shock is gone. I’d like the shock back please!

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – This was the book that got me into YA dystopian. I loved the whole series and I’ve read it through a couple of times but its just not the same!!!!!!!!! I want the unease you get the first time you read it and the way my heart raced the further into the books I got.

So this is my list (I’m sure they’re are others too). If you could erase a book from your mind and read it again, what would it be and why? Comment below people! Have an awesome weekend.

Leave a Reply

