How I Make Time To Read Books

I think everyone reads at different speeds and everyone reads for different reasons. One thing I think all book lovers have in common is finding time to make sure we read. For some of us it may come quite naturally finding time to read but for others we need to work on making time for reading.

I set myself a challenge of reading 90 books this year, I had completed about 60 last year and I wanted to punch myself to really get into reading. When I was a kid I always had a book in my hand and the habit simply died when I grew up. It is June 27th and o have already finished my reading challenge, reading 96 books already this year. This is a massive leap from last year and I’m showing no real signs of slowing down.

These are my tips on how to get more reading into your life.

1. Don’t force yourself! Sometimes I don’t feel like reading, some days I spend 12 hours playing the Sims. Some days I’ve had a hard shift at work and all I want to do is lay on the sofa and watch television. It’s ok, reading is meant to be fun and if you make it laborious you won’t want to read anymore.

2. Find something that excites you. Wether it’s a new book from your favourite author, the next book in a fabulous series or a book you loved years ago; find a book to get excited about. If you’re excited about a book you’re much more likely to pick it up. Similarly if you’re really struggling with a book and there’s no love there, it’s ok to put it down and pick up another one. Not every book is meant to be fully read. If I’m really not enjoying a book I put it down and pick up something I know I will.

3. Choosing a book as entertainment. It’s easier to just put on the tv but picking up a book is hours of entertainment once you really get in there.

4. Find a reading buddy. Whether it’s your best friend or your 6 month old baby, having someone to read with/too will spur you on to read. Book groups are also great for those who love to really get to the deep depths of a book’s soul.

5. Make a habit of carrying your book everywhere. You never know when you might have a free five minutes you could pick it up and have a quick read.

6. Reading lunch. If you get a substantial break at work why not pick up your book. Nothing better than finding a nice bench in summer and eating your lunch in the glow of sunshine and a good book.

7. A chapter before bed. If you are one of these super busy people why not just try out reading one chapter before you go to sleep. You’ll have a book read before you know it.

8. Swap books with friends. At work we all like to bring books in for each other, it’s a great way to find something new and be enthused by someone else’s passion for a book.

Well that’s what I do anyway. Do you have any tips of fitting in a good read? Let me know in the comments below 🙂

Leave a Reply

