Books I Want To Read This Summer

It’s summer! Yes rainclouds may be looming round every corner BUT it is still summer and summer means two things, ice-cream and new books. My reading schedule tends to relax itself a bit in the summer months and I find that I always read less between May and September but that doesn’t mean that I stop all together. I don’t have a set in stone to read list and as you all know my TBR list is still out of control. But I do have ideas.

Cassandra Clare

No she isn’t a book but it was a shorter header than everything of hers I have to read. I currently have on my bookshelves all of the Mortal Instruments series, The Infernal Devices, The Shadow Hunter’s Codex, The Bane Chronicles and Lady Midnight. I did make a small dent in these last month where I read the first 3 Mortal Instruments and 2 of the Infernal Devices but I stopped because I just NEEDED to read something else. Not because they aren’t fantastic but because I didn’t want to feel like I was dragging myself through them because I have too. I’m really looking forward to getting back to these books.

Dan Brown

Ok apparently I’m doing authors instead of books. I saw a film trailer for Inferno and it looked immense. I really want to go and see it but I’d like to have read the books first. I’ve only read The Da Vinci Code and that has to have been over 10 years ago. I liked it at the time but I think I’d probably have a firmer grasp on it now I’m all adulty and stuff.

Sylvia Day

I bought the whole Bared To You series in the beginning of May and it is still my plan to marathon read them all. Because its summer tradition to read romance novels.

June Gray

At the same time I bought the Bared To You series I also got the Disarmed series which just sounded like it had all the perfect components of a military based romance. I think that this will (hopefully) be essential summer reading.

Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham

I like my feminist literature so this seems perfect. But I’m really picking this up because I’ve been watching Girls constantly since I discovered it a couple of weeks ago and I have fallen in love with Lena Dunham. She’s everything I want to be and she is just fabulous and I just have to read this!

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman

I think I’m still on my 5th Wave kick with this. I love books with a variety of medias in them. It just sounds amazing.

I would also like to make a dent in my TBR list, I will certainly try. What are you planning on reading this summer? Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

