Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

This is the second book in the Infernal Devices series. Published in 2011 by Margret K. McElderry Books. This book is kinda urban fantasy mixed with (loose) historical fiction and a touch of steam punk. This book is 502 pages of glory. It took my about 10 hours to read over about a week because I had to work loads and I’ve been super tired :(. 

I am awarding this book 5 STARS!

This book surrounds Tessa trying to work out who she is, Will trying to free himself from his past and them all trying to find the mysterious Magister and stop his rain of evil. But this book, I can tell is only the tip of the iceberg. Plus the Jem, Will; Tessa love triangle is heart breaking and fierce!

My favourite characters in this book are Magnus because he ALWAYS comes through even though you ALWAYS presume the worst of him. And Charlotte because she is a strong powerhouse of a woman. Plus her and Henry’s love scene gave me feels!

Favourite Quotes

“It felt natural, as right as breathing, to lift her head, to meet his lips with hers.”

“The more beautiful the skin is, the more deadly it is.”

“Now you know the truth, you can never go back.”

“Lies and secrets… They are like a cancer in the soul. They eat away what is good and leave only destruction behind.”

“It was books that kept me from taking my own life after I thought I could never love anyone again. It was books that made me feel like perhaps I was not completely alone.”

“Without Tessa there is nothing for me – no joy, no light, no life.”

“We are chained to this life by a chain of gold, and we dare not sever it for fear of what lies beyond the drop.”

I loved this book and I am so emotionally involved with the characters now. Though Jem had lost his appeal since the last book and I’m now team Will. So much went down in this book and I loved every twist and turn. I’m not going to be carrying on with the last book straight away because this is the 5th Cassandra Clare book I’ve read in a row. As much as I love them I don’t want to sicken myself of them and I know I’ll look for to going back to them on the near future.

Thanks for reading guys xoxoxoxox

Leave a Reply

