Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

I feel like I’ve been trying to read through this book for ages but adult stuff (work) keeps getting in the way 😦 still I have finally finished and I’m super excited to share my review with you guys! 

This is the first book in The Infernal Devices trilogy. I’m reading these books in the order that the author has suggested they are to be read. So I have read the first three of The Mortal Instruments series and I am now reading the three from this trilogy before returning to the Mortal Instruments; I’m sure all will be made clear to why I’m doing.

First the facty bit. This book was published by Margret K. McElderry Books in September 2015. I’d classify this book as a young adult urban fantasy but with elements of historical fiction and steam punk. This book is 479 pages long and took me about 10 hours to read over 3 days (thank you tiredness from stopping my reading dream).

I’m giving this book, once again 5 STARS! I liked this so much that I’m torn between grabbing the next one or re-reading this one straight away. This will definitely be a book and series (including the mortal instruments so far) that I will pick up again and probably love just as much. 

This book, set in Victorian Britain follows newly arrived American Tesse, brought over to London to live with her brother after the death of their auntie. When she ends up in the dark and scary depths of the underworld she escapes taking refuge with the shadowhunters. She has big truths to find out and scarier things to fight. She also finds herself stuck by not one but two shadowhunters who also happen to be best friends.

My favourite character in this book is Jem. I like a nice boy what can I say? Now it’s not that the whole brooding and mysterious Will thing isn’t but Jem is so fascinating and I think we’re going to find out a lot more about him as the series goes on. 

The best thing about this book, like all of them so far is the feeling of never quite knowing what’s going on or being so sure you have figured everything out just to be told you really haven’t. 

The worst thing about this book is the anger you’ll feel towards certain characters, not really a bad thing but guys, I’m really struggling to find out anything I even remotely dislike.

FAVOURITE QUOTES 

“The more beautiful the skin is, the more deadly it is.”

“Your angel can’t protect you against that which is neither God nor the devil has made.”

“Now you know the truth, you can never go back”

You should read this if you have any sense or like to be entertained to the point of firery combustion!

Leave a Reply

