Bookshelf Tour – 11th June 2016

Since I’ve already done a post on my TBR pile I thought I’d done one on my bookshelves. I’m not going to go too much into them but I think it’ll be interesting to look back at this in 6 months time and see how much has changed since I have a never ending urge to change and swap my books around. My bookcase policy is a bit severe but no book is safe, I constantly replace books with books I like more and although I occasionally end up re-buying a book, so far this technique has worked for me keeping my house (relatively) book clutter free. I also apologise for my appalling photography/editing skills!

Shelf One – The odd one out shelf.

image (5)

I’ve cut off poor Olaf’s head! Sorry Olaf, no harm meant, I’m just rubbish at holding my phone still long enough to take a decent picture. Along with a half Olaf, I have a mummy and baby Furby from back in the day. The batteries are drained (thank goodness) so they’re now just cute ornaments I keep on top of my books, just because. My boyfriend has a collection of Xbox games on this shelf too that I’ve hidden behing my book because lets face it books are prettier AND he doesn’t own an Xbox anymore! I realise you can’t see some of these book titles but I shall write about them anyway.

Now to the books. This shelf is mostly books that I have won from Goodreads that I’ve kept because I loved them and/or they’re signed.

  1. Beloved Poison by E.S. Thomson. If you love a murder mystery with an historical twist then this is for you.
  2. The Weirdness of Leesome Shrounds by M.A. Hunt. Why are all these authors using their intials? Anyway, this is a young adult fantasy about a boy who finds a mysterious lift timetable that takes him to another world. This book, as the title indicated was exceptionally weird but it was also freakin’ awesome and I loved it. The book is also really cute and pretty.
  3. No Rest for the Spirit and Other Ghostly Tales by Annie Rachel Cole. I read this about 2 years ago and even from the description I can’t remember what it contained but I gave it 5 stars on Goodreads so it had to be good right?
  4. Call to Crusade by Tom Vetter. This is historical fiction, REALLY historical fiction. I’ve picked this up so many times and not got far ever but the author was so lovely that I’m determined that I’m not going to throw it away with every intention of reading it eventually.
  5. Neon Phantoms by Sean McCloy. This book cover is a VHS, it’s amazing! A cool story about a video store manager who finds a strange video in a creepy shop and becomes obsessed with it. It was a scary book and intriguing and I honestly have no idea which genre this book would fit into. It is one on it’s own and I really hope this book explodes into the mainstream.
  6. From a Poison Pen by B.P.Smythe. This book is a Chuck Palahniuk wannabe. It was OK. I think this book will be a lot better if it gets picked up by a published (with an editor). Not for those with a prudish side.
  7. R is for Rebel by Megan Mulry. I never read this but I kept it because it was signed, shallow I know!
  8. Hiding Behind The Couch by Debbie McGowan. My friend Andrea gave me this book years ago and I never read it and I am ASHAMED! I’ve read other books by this author and she is a master of story telling.
  9. I Call Myself A Feminist by various authors under 30. It was a wonderful collection of essays covering different aspects of feminism. This book left me empowered and wanting to learn more. A must for, well the entire human race.
  10. Harry Potter and the SOURCER’S Stone by J.K. Rowling. My American friend brought me this when she came to visit and I loved the cover so much. I gave away all my other Harry Potter books because they were tattered and mismatched but fear not, my lovely boyfriend is buying the whole series for me BRAND NEW for my birthday.
  11. The Sookie Stackhouse Diaries by Charlaine Harris. These belong to my boyfriend and I really wanted to read them so he lent me them before we moved in together and now nearly 2 years later I still haven’t finished them, I in fact only read one and a half of these books. I keep them because they aren’t mine and they do look pretty, plus you never know; if vampires ever come back into fashion I will have a head start.
  12. It’s a bible! I’m not religious in any sense of the word but when I was younger I was and I guess by association I just like having it around.
  13. Pawnee by Leslie Knope. I love Parks and Recreation so much! This is a guide to the town by Miss Knope herself that is both entertaining and factual. A must for fans.
  14. Lark Rise to Candleford by a Thompson. This is a beautiful illustrated copy of the book and possibly one of only two classics that I have ever liked.

Shelf Two – Cosy mystery novels and stuff

image (1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m not going to go into every book on this shelf because it’s easier to talk about them as a series in general.

  1. The Lucy Stone Mysteries by Leslie Meier. I discovered this series in a charity bookshop I used to work in and was instantly hooked. I have every one of these and it will never be enough. On average Leslie brings out one of these books a year (the next one being the 27th September). This series follows Lucy Stone, All round American, wife, mother, reporter and a lot of the time murder detective. It’s amazing in such a small town how so many people can be murdered, still it’s addictive reading.
  2. The Disarmed Series by June Gray. I bought these last month and haven’t read them yet. They follow the story of a girl and her dead brother’s best friend. This is military fiction and it sounds seriously slushie and amazing.
  3. Just One Day by Gayle Forman, bought this last month too, I’m STILL waiting for the second book to come – grrrrrrrrrrr.
  4. Endless Summer by Jennifer Echols. Another one I bought last month and haven’t read. This is a beachy, coming of age summer romance that just sounds cute.
  5. The Agatha Raisin Mysteries by M.C.Beaton. I own 1-20 in the series then 23 and 25 I believe. I’ve read up to 18 and I really love them. My mum introduced me to the series and I’m so glad because they are a great easy read. Similarly to Lucy Stone but set in a small English town, Agatha is always stumbling across a murder plus her dramatic love life alone will keep you coming back for more. I read the first 18 near enough in a row and decided I needed to read something else and never got back to them but I will, because they are awesome! I also have the first couple of Haymish McBeth books by the same author on this shelf but I won’t discuss them as I have no idea what they’re about.

Shelf Three – It must be love, love, love…

bookshelf 2

  1. Who’s That Girl by Mhairi McFarlane. I pick this up at work for a ridiculously cheap and tore through it like a starved wolf with a steak. This book was just everything a contemporary romance should be. Plus the lead guy is actually nice!
  2. The Bared To You Series by Sylvia Day. I’ve only read Bared To You so far and I really enjoyed it. It’s often compared to 50 Shades of Grey but I personally found this much more enjoyable and just generally better on every aspect. Less sex and more romance but I still believe those fans of the erotic won’t be disappointed.
  3. My Mad Fat Diary Series by Rae Earl. I loved the television series but the books didn’t really compare. I’ve kept them, I think because I love the show so god damn much but if I need the space, they’ll just have to go. I also have OMG is this actually my Life by the same author that I haven’t read yet.
  4. The Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy by Jenny Han. I read these earlier this year and loved them so much. It isn’t that they’re any kind of literary feat but they made me feel so hard. I can see me re-reading the shit out of these.
  5. Slammed by Colleen Hoover. This is the first book of Colleen Hoover’s I ever read (which was quickly followed by everything she’s ever written in quick succession). This book made me laugh and cry and wish I could crawl within the pages. Colleen Hoover is one of only a few authors I wish I could read their books and get book amnesia and read them again so I could get those raw emotions you feel reading them for the first time. Just major love for Colleen and I know I’m not alone in that.
  6. The Leaving Paradise series (I don’t think it’s called that but I’m calling it that so there) by Simone Elkeles. I’ve read 90 books this year, this is one that I must have loved at the time to keep but now I’m thinking why? I’m not sure, it was probably really good but if I have to cull it for something better, I will.
  7. Forbidden by Tabatha Suzuma. This book broke my heart in so many ways. Never did I think I would root for a incestuous brother and sister relationship but I did. Then ending destroyed me. If you like to be emotionally tortured, this is for you. A firm example that the world is not black and white, or fair.
  8. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I’ve read 2 John Green books, Paper Towns was horrendous as far as I’m concerned but The Fault in Our Stars? Just beautiful and poetic. I’m always a bit sceptical to jump on the hype bandwagon but I’m glad I did with this.
  9. Between The Lines and Off The Pages by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer. Apparently this can be read as a series or both as stand alones. I’ve read the first one and it was super cute and I loved how different the idea behind it was but I’m yet to read Off The Page.
  10. Me Before You & Me After You by Jojo Moyes. Me Before You made me cry my eyes out and call for my mum, it was horrible but in the best way. Me After You was a mixture of meh and what?

Shelf Four – Fantasy and Science Fiction (Laura Style)

image (3)

  1. The 5th Wave Trilogy by Rick Yancey. I’ve been in a bit of an alien frenzy this last month. I blame that on this books that I devoured one after another, eager to know what would happen to the human race. Heart pumping stuff with a very humanistic element throughout. I couldn’t recommend this series more if I tried, just do it.
  2. The Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I stand by my thought that this was twilight but with aliens. Saying that, the politics in this was crazy and I spent most of the series not knowing who to trust. The characters weren’t always too consistent and a bit flat but none the less I loved it all.
  3. The Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer. I’m not explaining this, if you haven’t heard of Twilight where the hell have you been? A firm favourite on my shelves.
  4. The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare. Now if you can’t tell by the above picture of my previous reviews I am currently on book three of this Urban Fantasy series. If you love folk law and urban legends and religious retellings these are for you. Alternatively if you love dramatic love stories these are also for you. I feel like reading these are going to ruin books for me for a while so I’m trying to read slowly. Luckily Miss Clare is still writing the spin off series for these and I have the Clockwork series, The Bane Chronicles and Lady Midnight currently in transit to my house. These books are making me all fan girl crazy!

Shelf Five – These are my books, my books are amazing!!!!!!

Now lets take a second to appreciate my collection of reusable bags.

image (4)

  1. Horrorstor by Grady Hendrix. A cool book designed like an Ikea catalogue. The story not as cool as the book, still an interesting premise, something is array in a furniture shop, something that needs to be investigated.
  2. Fire and Flood by Victoria Scott. These next 4 books came to me as part of a monthly subscription box my boyfriend got me last year (I am so spoilt). I remember this being Hunger Games esq but nothing more as I’m drawing a blank.
  3. Forget Me Never by Gina Blaxill. This was a king of teenage murder mystery that blew me away. I’d forgotten about this till I started to do this blog and now I want to read it again.
  4. More Than This by Patrick Ness. Just brilliant.
  5. Stray by Monica Nesse. This was about some kids who grew up in a computer lab pretty much, cheaper than social housing I guess? But the long term implications are terrifying. A scary futuristic tale with a kick ass female lead.
  6. The Small Hand by Susan Hill. I think this was about a creepy doll, I might be wrong but I’m about 70 per cent sure. I must have liked it at the time because I kept it but its not a story that really stayed with me, I’ll have to read it again and see if I can rekindle to flame.
  7. Great Ghost Stories by a collection of authors. One of my friends gave me this about three years ago and it looks good but I still haven’t read it yet. I keep it because I really want to but like most things I wouldn’t hold my breath.
  8. Penpal by Dathan Auerbach. This is an adaptation of a creepypasta story. I love creepypasta and I wish more of them would become novels like this one. It scared the shit out of me, a must for modern horror lovers.
  9. Submission by Michel Houellebecq. Always one to want to shock audiences, this book is a commentary on the authors imaginings on France with a Muslim lead government. It raises some interesting discussion topics but mainly makes Houellebecq sound like a paranoid racist.
  10. Autobiography by Morrissey. I love Morrissey’s music and damn that man can (could) write, do I like him? I don’t know. This book seemed to be more about poetic prose than facts, I still really enjoyed this though.
  11. I have 2 of the Divine Comedies’ books. I think I’m missing the first one, which is a lazy excuse for having not read them. I still think they sound so interesting but obviously not interesting enough.
  12. List of The Lost by Morrissey. This is what I meant when I said the man COULD write, then he wrote this. A book about love and sex written by a man I suspect who has never really encountered either. Don’t worry Morrissey, I love you just please don’t try and write any more books. You may wonder why I’ve held onto this book? Me too.
  13. The Vagina Monologues by Eve Ensler. I get the feeling that a lot of women in my generation think this book is obsolete. I couldn’t disagree more. This book made me comfortable with my vagina and uncomfortable with the place of women in the world.
  14. The Wave by Morton Rhue. This book is truly chilling and a must for anyone who doesn’t believe a party like the Nazi party could ever rise to power again.
  15. Mother, Brother, Lover by Jarvis Cocker. A collection of song lyrics collected like poems, I love to read and dissect these.
  16. Animal Farm by George Orwell. I think this is the first book that truly made me think on a higher level.
  17. Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov. This to be is the epitome of human behaviour. This is a man with nothing to loose really telling his side of the story. Do I think this book is the most vile thing I’ve ever read? Yes. Still compelling.
  18. The Colossus by Sylvia Plath. This is my favourite collection of poems ever. She is just incredible.
  19. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath. In my opinion, the greatest novel ever written. I must have read this around 20 times and each time it gets better. I love that I find something new and this novel grows with me. I’m currently listening to this on audiobook read by Maggie Gyllenhaal who is doing an excellent job. Thank you Sylvia for appeasing my soul.
  20. Whatever by Michal Houellebecq. Another Houellebecq. I love him because I hate him. I don’t even know why I love it so much, I just do, it has sad, lonely old man magic. Sometimes you’ve got to read something by a prick.

BONUS

Behind my books on the last bookshelf I also have a collection of Fear Street, X-Files and Goosebumps books. I love them, they are my childhood!

Thank you so much for reading all of this, it went on forever! Please let me know what you think should be on my bookshelf in the comments below…

 

Leave a Reply

