My Ridiculous TBR pile (part 1, apparently I have more books than I thought).

My name is Laura and I’m a book-a-holic. It has been 3 days since my last purchase and I’m already flicking through my goodreads account wondering if I should maybe buy just one more. I am a mess! But in my defence there are A LOT of amazing books out there.

So in this post I am going to fess up and show you guys all the books that I have purchased. This is my declaration of book buying abstinence, I am using this post to reignite the flame that made me buy these books in the first place so I don’t buy (or enter competitions to win) any books till I’ve read all these fine ones on my bookshelves.

My system to get through this enormous pile of books is a very badlLucky dipy crafted to be read lucky dip (as endorsed by every other book blogger under the age of 30), please look to the left to see the lack of skill. My plan is to leave my book choice up to fate, making reading more fun and carefree (or something like that). Now to the books!

1. A Whole New World by Liz Brawell. This is the first in a (Disney endorsed) series of reimagines of our favourite Disney classics starting with the story of Aladdin if he HADN’T found the lamp.

2. The Finding of Martha Lost by Caroline Wallace. I live near Liverpool so anything Liverpool related always grabs my attention. A girl is abandoned as a baby in the lost and found department of a Liverpool train station. As she grows up waiting for someone to claim her, she finds herself intertwined in the other mysteries of the lost and found. It sounds really cute! Plus Waterstones had a brand new hardback copy of this book for 50p because it was a tear in the dust jacket. I cannot leave a bargain.

3. What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler. I had to pick this up! A story of a rape on an American college campus. This book sounds book intreguing and chilling.

4. The Yorkshire Shepardess by Amanda Owen. My dad got this for Christmas and my mum suggested I read it because I loved The Shepard’s Life by James Rebanks. This is the story of a woman who gave up a high powered job to live on a farm in Yorkshire. I’m Cumbrian so I love stories about farms and farmers, I don’t know quite why but I do.

5. A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara. This book has such high ratings on goodreads. A tale of four classmates moving to New York together and their lives (and struggles) there after. This was an impulse buy because it was super cheap at work but it sounds so good and I NEED to read it NOW.

6. The State We’re In by Adele Parks. From what the synopsis says I’m guessing this is a story of opposites attract, a will they won’t they kinda job. I’m not sure if I would have picked this up myself and I have tried reading it before but I couldn’t get into it. My mum loved this book so much she bought me it and frequently asks if I’ve read it yet. My mum has wonderful taste in books so I will be giving this another try, in the hope it picks up.

7. The Bricks That Built The Houses by Kate Tempest. I’m not sure what this is about. I won it on goodreads and if you’re anything like me you’ll enter just because of a pretty cover. It’s something to do with a cross section of lives in London and morals. I’m reading this because I won it and refuse to be one of those people who doesn’t at least give it a try.

8. The Strawberry Girl by Lisa Strommer. ANOTHER goodreads win (I’ve got a problem and you’ll see the extent of my competition entering skills as we carry on this post). I pretty much think this is Girl With A Pearl Earring but set in Norway with lots of strawberries. I’ll give it a go.

9. The Mistake I Made by Paula Daly. I love the cover on the version I bought. A thriller about a woman who shags some man for money and has to deal with the consequences. I had a bit of a short lived thriller binge at the start of the year and this is a leftover. I’m not overly feeling this but it looks like a short read. I never put a good book down.

10. Room by Emma Donoghue. I borrowed this off my boyfriend’s mum once again when I was going through my thriller stage. I think this is about a kidnap situation. I’m more intriguiged about reading this than number 9.

11. House of The Blue Sea by Teresa Van Bryce. So, this sad artist woman gets dumped and runs away to Mexico (obviously) where some rich Bristish bloke wants to buy some of her work. The blurb for this is lonnnnngggggggggg (like this post is turning out to be) so I’m gonna guess it’s a love story type ending. It’s sounds ok and I won it on goodreads so I will read it!

12. The Haunted and The Haunters by Edward Bulwer-Lytton. A Victorian sceptic goes to a haunted house to explain the creepy goings on. All in gonna say about this is its old and I got it for 20p.

13. Upstairs Downstairs by John Hawksworth. I used to watch the to programme with my mum when I was younger and I loved it. Plus this book was also super old and therefore also 20p.

14. Chances: My Story of Love, Sex & a Second Chance by Penny and Andrew Crofts. Another goodreads win is all I’m going to say.

15. We Need To Talk About Kevin Bridges by Kevin Bridges. I went to see him live last year and thought yes I need to read this man’s autobiography and there it has sat on my bookshelf ever since. I’m interested, ish hence why I’m yet to fully commit to reading this book.

16. The One That Got Away by Simon Woods. A story of abduction, guilt and the drive to find truth. I’ll get to this eventually.

17. The Wind Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami. I loved Norwegian Wood and Sputnik Sweetheart sooooooooo much! I love his writing style. This book starts off with a man looking for his wife’s missing cat and then his wife in the underworld of Tokyo. It just sounds so brilliant and I have no idea why I haven’t picked this up yet.

18. The End Of The World As We Know It by Iva-Marie Palmer. A group of teenagers, a big party and an alien invasion. I’ve just read the 5th Wave so Deffo one to read off the back if that.

19. Timebomb by Scott K. Andrews. **Goodreads win alert**   It’s like time travel Freaky Friday (I hope).

20. Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk. I don’t need to explain this surely! I’ve been told this is crap compared to the film. Yay!

21. Birthmarked by Caragh O’Brien. A dystopian about a wall and the people who live on each side. I feel a bit meh about this but maybe it will be super good and I’ll have to eat my own sock.

4 thoughts on “My Ridiculous TBR pile (part 1, apparently I have more books than I thought).

Leave a Reply

