The 5th Wave Trilogy

I borrowed this picture off Rick Yancey (thank you, it’s a very pretty cover): http://www.rickyancey.com/books/the-5th-wave

5th**BAM** Aliens **BANG**

This book is the physical collection of my nightmares. Why would anyone write this? Not that I’m sad it was written, this book is amazing but Rick, what were you thinking you sicko?

Before we start this I’m not sure how spoilery this post is going to get. I struggle when I’ve just read a book to contain everything, especially since the final book came out on Tuesday and it was AWESOME! So that’s your disclaimer, don’t read this if you care about spoilers but I will try my best to behave.

THE 5th WAVE

Where do I even start with this book? At the beginning? Ok! We have Cassie, 16 year old Cassie who is alone and living in a tent and hatching new ways everyday of how she’s going to survive in the midst of a war with aliens and most importantly how she’s going to save her little brother Sam who has been taken to a safe place by mysterious military; the same military who killed her father and nearly killed her. Unknown to her, her brother has been recruited as part of a child army who being trained to take out the alien life forms who have been implanted IN humans. She knows she can’t trust anyone. But when she’s shot in the leg and rescued by Evan Walker who is unbelievable attractive and kind, she begins to question everything. Especially when a secret about Evan is revealed and everything they both thought they knew comes into question.

This first book is a rollercoaster and possibly the scariest young adult (if not adult book) that I’ve ever read. The story is complex and full of loop holes and shocking revelations that more often than not genuinely do shock. Even if you wanted to stop reading this its not possible, unless you don’t like being entertained of course. I can not express how much I enjoyed this book and how thrilled I was to discover a second book.

THE INFINATE SEA

All you need to know about this book is that you need to read it. I probably found this book the least enjoyable out of the three but only by a fraction and mainly because it felt like an arch between the first and the third book. My main complaint about the series as a whole is that they bothered to make it into a trilogy when it could have comfortable been a duology. The relationships in this book make it worth it, the character development and the plot progression is both quick and intense.

THE LAST STAR

Now I’m really going to be careful with this book because its ok to drop a few story spoilers about the first book but to drop them here would not only completely ruin the second book but the thing that makes this series is the revelations that destroy everything you’ve thought before and trust me there are more than one of these. this book wraps up the series really well and unlike a lot of trilogies I’ve read, this didn’t disappoint. The ending certainly didn’t leave me angry but I felt there was scope for more books, weather they be sequels or prequels. Quite frankly I would like to know what happens next.

This is certainly a recommended read for fans of the Hunger Games and the dystopian genre in general. I read quite a lot of dystopian a couple of years and felt I’d exhausted it somewhat but I can happily say this series is something different. Its also a fantastic opening for anyone looking for a gateway to some lighter sci-fi or even for people who appreciate a bit of horror. Not for the light hearted.

 

Leave a Reply

